RSS

Daily Archives: August 21, 2011

Funny Rooster :)

It’s interesting that I came across this video today. My black rooster was doing this very thing up at the barn earlier. (We also use buckets like this for our hens to lay in). Anyway, I had let some of the chickens outside to enjoy the sunny day, and I heard all this clucking and commotion coming from inside the barn. I went in to see what it was about, and there was Mr. Rooster up in the hay talking to one of my buff hens and telling her to get up there and lay an egg. 🙂 It was adorably cute and amusing to watch. These birds are just so much more beautiful and sociable than so many people think or know.

Here is the video. It’s sweet, I hope it makes others smile too. 🙂

This video is from “A Heart for Home’s” YouTube Channel.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 21, 2011 in General, My Birds, Poultry, Video

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Happy Chickens :)

Here is an encouraging and uplifting video from “Shoots & Roots” of chickens who are free to truly be chickens. I wish more people could understand and appreciate that these animals really do have feelings and emotions. They can be happy and sad just like any other living things.

I love the part where they are having dust baths, my chickens love to do that too.

Thank you Melissa for sharing a lovely video. 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 21, 2011 in Animal Rights, Poultry, Video

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Something Positive to Share

So, it’s late and I have been working on getting this blog all set up. The last entry I made was pretty disheartening, so I figured it was time to share something more uplifting.

What could be more uplifting than some pretty photos of some happy birds? 🙂

*These photos have all been taken by me and may not be used without permission.

My English Game Hen, Reno & Her Baby (Summer 2010)

My Silkie Hen with Her Chicks (Summer 2009)

A Little Rouen Duckling with Some Pretty Blossoms

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 21, 2011 in General, My Birds, Photography, Poultry

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,